Meet the Winners of the European Fintech Awards 2017

EFTA blog.png

Held on September 27, the European Fintech Awards & Conference was a full-day event packed with forward-looking keynotes and exciting pitch battles for the top three companies in each of the nine categories: Alternative Finance, Blockchain, Challenger Banks, Financial Inclusion, Innovative Banking Software, InsurTech, Payments & Transfers, PFM Robo Advisory and Risk, Intelligence & Security. Four of our members – Connective, SettleMint, Doccle and Cybersprint – bested 600+ other startup nominees and battled it out at the finals. Aimed at promoting the European fintech ecosystem, B-Hive was excited to be a main partner of the event.

In a morning session on regulatory sandboxes, B-Hive CEO Wim De Waele invited Jan Vermeulen of the National Bank of Belgium and Davy Drees of Privatum on stage for an interactive panel discussion on the impact of GDPR & PSD2 in the financial services industry. Both directives are considered opposing regulatory forces, but they cannot be looked at separately in the context of financial services. While GDPR imposes a strong legal framework on controlling privacy and data exchange, PSD2 unbundles the value chain for payment solutions providers and promotes the move towards open banking. 


Our founding and managing partner Jurgen Ingels also graced the stage in the afternoon to talk about scaling up. Apart from highlighting the importance of time reduction, he shared practical tips on how companies can “squeeze” time and as a result, scale their businesses faster. 


Belgian Minister of Finance Johan Van Overtveldt brought this year’s edition to a close with a keynote highlighting the role of creating an engaged digital fintech ecosystem to foster innovation in the financial services industry. B-Hive also proudly welcomes all the winners of the European Fintech Awards 2017 into its growing global fintech community - Carbon Delta, Funderbeam, Meniga, MyBucks, N26, Openclaims, Oradian, Trade and Twisto. 

Congratulations and thank you to all of those we had the chance to speak with. We already look forward to next year’s edition!